Thornhill Advisory Planning Commission
Posted on 06/03/2024

Have your say!

The Thornhill Advisory Planning Commission (TAPC) currently has two vacancies for membership. Residents from lower and upper Thornhill, Queensway, Churchill Drive, Copper Mountain, and other neighbourhoods within Electoral Area E are encouraged to apply. The successful applicants will join an existing complement of seven engaged members.

What is an Advisory Planning Commission?

An Advisory Planning Commission (APC) is an independent body comprised of residents appointed by the Regional District Board. Members of an APC serve on a volunteer basis, attending meetings monthly or as scheduled based on need and volume of referrals from the Board. APCs are advisory in nature, and they do not have any direct approval, ownership, or authority over matters that are referred to them. 

Members of an APC have a significant responsibility to the community they are appointed to represent. The primary functions of an APC are:

  • Advising the Board, when requested, on matters respecting land use and community planning, such as: 
    • Preparation of Zoning Bylaws and Official Community Plans 
    • Preparation of infrastructure plans and studies that have planning implications (e.g., sewer, water, transportation) 
    • Applications from property owners for land use approvals, such as rezoning applications, temporary use permits, and development variance permits
  • Listening to and gathering input from the community to ascertain views on planning and land use matters  

Interested in Becoming an TAPC Member? 

 If you would like to learn more or would like to apply to be a member of the Thornhill APC, please contact the Regional District office at 250-615-6100, visit the Advisory Planning Commission page on the RDKS website, or email Development Services at [email protected]

 Apply on the Regional District website here, or pick up a an application form at the RDKS office: Suite 300 – 4545 Lazelle Avenue, Terrace, B.C, between 8:30 am and 4:30 pm, Monday to Friday, except statutory holidays.